Zetta Blog

Zetta FAQ backup syncs

Ask Zetta: Everything You Wanted to Know (And Many of You Asked)

by Laura Knight

Do you have a burning question about the Zetta service, how it works and what you can do with it? You’re not alone! That’s why we’ve gathered our internal experts to bring you the answers to our most frequently asked questions, conveniently gathered in a single page.

We’ve included some highlights below, and you can check out the full Zetta FAQ over in our Resources section. And if it turns out your Q isn’t FA enough to be included (yet), drop us a line at1.877.469.3882 or sales@zetta.com, and we’ll be happy to answer.

Does Zetta do full backups?

Yes, for your first, initial backup. The first time ZettaMirror syncs your data, it will do a full backup of all data in the specified location. Subsequent backups also yield the same result as a full backup, but only transmit the amount of data of an incremental backup.

How do the standard backup syncs work?

When ZettaMirror activates for your scheduled backup, it first checks the dataset for changes since the last sync. Only changed data (either new files or portions modified within a file) is sent to the datacenter, where the “tip” (the most recent copy) is brought up-to-date with what is on the client host.

The reverse of these modifications are stored as “undo(s),” in “snapshots,” allowing for instant access to any previous version or restore point within the retention period. This gives you the effect of a full backup for restores, but with drastically lower time, bandwidth and storage requirements than actually taking a full backup each time. 

Why do my backup durations vary from day to day?

Because only changed data is transferred to the Zetta cloud, the time needed to do a backup varies depending on how much your dataset has changed since the previous sync.

If only a few files have changed, the sync will probably only take a short time. If you’ve added a significant amount of new data (a folder of high-resolution photos, for example, or a large new application), the sync might take longer than usual as it has more work to do.

How does retention work? My retention is set for one year, but I want to keep some things longer. How can I do that?

“Retention” refers to how long we keep modifications from the “tip,” or most recent version of the file system. A modification can be a change to a file, or a deletion from your primary dataset. We will never remove your primary data – as long as you keep a file, we keep it in our cloud. After you delete it, we will retain it for the period of time you have specified.

We also offer archiving for long-term backup storage needs.

Do you use encryption? What kind?

We use SSL encryption transferring data from the client to our servers, and AES encryption for customer volumes on our disk server. Each customer volume has its own individual encryption key.

Read the Full FAQ

Laura Knight
Laura Knight

As Content Marketing Manager, Laura writes, edits, designs and is always on the lookout for new ways to tell the Zetta story.